FAQS

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you make vegan chocolate?

Dark chocolate is easy! Quality dark chocolate should be made from only cocoa liquor (pulverized cacao nibs), sugar, additional cocoa butter, and possibly a little vanilla and lecithin. Dairy-free the same way apples are!

Milk chocolate is typically made with the inclusion of dairy milk powder. This is what makes it milky. The problem is then to find something to take over the role of the milk powder. With so many ingredients out there it's unsurprising that there is a solution. The current winning recipe uses a combination of delicious and wholesome ingredients primarily comprised of organic American soy and Hawaiian macadamia.

A lot of experimenting has gone into the current version of our vegan milk chocolate recipe. The result is luscious, creamy vegan chocolate.

How does Schmilk chocolate compare taste-wise to traditional milk chocolate?

There is quite a bit of taste variation within milk chocolate. For example, Cadbury’s Dairy Milk is easily distinguishable from Godiva and they’re both easily distinguishable from Lindt. Schmilk doesn’t taste ‘just like’ any of these familiar milk chocolates. It differs subtly from each distinct milk chocolate, just as different dairy milk chocolates differ from each other. Schmilk is definitely in the milk chocolate category. It is high quality, made with pure cocoa butter- no foreign fats are added to cut costs.

Is Chocolate Hollow's dairy-free chocolate "healthy"? 

We believe that chocolate can absolutely be part of a healthy diet. That being said, our chocolate is not "diet chocolate." We develop our recipes with one goal in mind: to create the best possible dairy-free chocolate eating experience. 

How is the chocolate shipped?

We rely on both USPS and Fedex Express. We use ice packs when necessary. For larger orders, we take care of the shipping charges for you.

How do wholesale orders work?

Please email for information on wholesale dairy-free chocolate.